Music Educators Association of New Jersey

Serving teachers and students since 1927

Honors Recital Highlights
November 13, 2016

Two outstanding Honors Recitals presented talented students of MEA teachers at the Randolph Performing Arts Center at The Music Den in Randolph on Sunday, November 13. Of the 68 students who auditioned at Wharton Music Center in New Providence the previous Sunday, 41 soloists, two duets, and one trio were selected as Honors winners to perform in one of two recitals, at 4 p.m. and 6:00 p.m. MEA graciously thanks the Wharton Music Institute for the use of their facility for the auditions, and the Music Den in Randolph for the use of their attractive Performing Arts Center for our recitals. Thank you to dedicated committee members Sallie Lloyd, Ruth Pasquariello, and Charlene Step for their invaluable work, and to all those who contributed to making these recitals special to the performers, their parents, teachers, and friends.

MEA proudly lists the following Honors students and the pieces they played at the two recitals at the Randolph Performing Arts Center.

4 PM Recital


Honors Recital Program - 4 p.m.
Gavin Parikh Miniature, Op. 8, No. 7 Goedicke
Tiffany Yang Gachou no Koushin Kaneda
Joyce and Emily Hwang Robin Redbreast, Op. 47, No.2 Beach
Robert Sun The Little White Donkey Ibert
Sophia Wu Rondo in G Major Alexander
Austin Mau Four Variations on a Theme by Paganini Labunski
Caitlyn Huang Rondo in B Flat Major Pleyel
Zara Yu Song of the Lark, Op. 39, No. 22 Tchaikovsky
Sejal Patel Hungarian Dance, Op. 39, No. 9 Reinhold
Sophia Lee Sonatina in C Major, Op. 36,
No. 3, 1st mvt.
Jessica Gao The Knight Errant, Op. 100, No. 25 Burgmüller
Franklin Mau Sonata in D Major, 1st mvt. Haydn
Conor Hampton Toccata Shurovsky
Sejal and Sahdev Patel Sonatina in C Major Weber
James Grant Sonata Op. 14, No. 10, 3rd mvt. Beethoven
Sasha Shefter Praeludeum in E minor Mendelssohn
Jeddy Xie Sonata, Op. 10, No. 5, 1st mvt. Beethoven
Sho Ogino Clair de Lune Debussy
Liwen Zhou Prelude in D Flat, Op. 34, No. 15 Shostakovich
Kenneth Le Morceau de Fantaisie in G minor Rachmaninoff
Noah Chen Toccata from Pour Le Piano Debussy


6 PM Recital


Honors Recital Program - 6 p.m.
Joanna Liu Indian Pony Race Glover
Helena Kim Theme and Variations in C Major Haydn
Zoey Wen The Little White Donkey Ibert
Jocelyn Chen Avalanche, Op. 45, No. 2 Heller
Emma Zheng Etude Allegro Nakada
Justin Zhang The Sapin, Op. 75, No. 5 Sibelius
Aadhithyaram Balaji Allemande in A minor Handel
Emily Wei Tarantella Pieczonka
Maya Lily Knoller Two-Part Invention in E Major, No. 6 J. S. Bach
Alyssa Laze Polonaise BWV Anh. 125 C. P. E. Bach
Faith Tan Sonatina in F, Op. 151, No. 3, 1st mvt. Diabelli
Emma Lau Sonata in C minor, III-Presto Pescetti
Samantha Howden Sonata in C, Hob XVI/1, 1st mvt. Haydn
Joshna Iyengar Birmingham Blues Mier
Sophia Kim Etude in B Flat minor, Op. 104, b, No. 2 Mendelssohn
Kaitlyn Vuong, Rene Zhang,
and Kylie Bill
Blue Danube Waltz Strauss/Garci
Rebecca Hsiao Passepied Debussy
Leon Wang Sonata in G Major, Finale: Presto Haydn
Gloria Liu Sonata in E minor, Op. 7, 1st mvt. Grieg
Yulia Kuzniar Visions Fugitive, Op. 22,
Nos. 5, 6, 8, & 9
James Gao The Girl with the Flaxen Hair Debussy
Kyle Mazer Bagatelle, Op. 5, No. 10 Tcherepnin
Leigh Wang Sonata in D Major, Op. 40, No.3 Clementi


Congratulations to the following teachers whose students were awarded Honors:
Azar Gordon, Barbara Landi Hause, Mansoon Kim, Sherry Lai, Chuanyin Lee, Marlene Lippman, Florence Liu, Beatrice Long, Marcia Maull, Sophia Ososkov, Sondra Tammam, Hsingju Tseng, Yuka Yanagi, and Stella Xu

MEA Honors Recital Committee:
Marlene Lippman - Chair, Sallie Lloyd, Ruth Pasquariello, Charlene Step.